Skip to main content
Sign In
Santa Monica College|Administration & College Governance|Academic Senate|Academic Senate Committees|Environmental Affairs Committee

Environmental Affairs Committee


Welcome to the Environmental Affairs Committee




Scope and Function
Scope and Functions for the Environmental Affairs Committee Approved by the Academic Senate unanimously on February 26, 2013.
Membership: Faculty and Administrators (2:1 ratio)
The Committee serves as the Senate's and the College's resource and recommending body on academic and professional matters related to the environment, ecological literacy and greening the curriculum.
  • Support the Center for Environmental and Urban Studies
  • Support the continued development and growth of ecological literacy and the continued Greening of the Curriculum at the College.
  • Support efforts to enhance the College's sustainability
  • Facilitate partnerships to enhance and develop College environmental programs
  • Work with the Associated Students, the District Planning and Advisory Council, and other College committees to address environmental concerns at the College.
  • Sponsor environmentally relevant activities and programs at the college.

Cara Thompson x4877 (Fall 2015)

Vice Chair

 Ferris Kawar x3911 (Fall 2015)

Voting Members
Garen Baghdasarian
Stuart Cooley
Amber Katherine
Alex Tower
Interested Parties
Guido Davis Del Piccolo
Kaya Foster
Keith Graziadei
Pete Morris
Dave Phillips
William Selby
Meeting - Dates/Time/Location
 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month
1pm to 2:30pm
HSS 261 (Academic Senate Conference Room)
Agenda’s & Minutes










General Information

Contact Us

For further information, you may contact Co-Chairs at e-mails listed below: 
Alexandra Tower --

Alex Schwartz --  


From the OECD:

Other Documents:

Greening the Curriculum