Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
SMC|Administration & College Governance|Academic Senate|Academic Senate Committees|Sabbaticals, Fellowships, and Awards Committee

Sabbaticals, Fellowships, and Awards Committee

Congratulations to the 2015 SMC Hayward Award Nominee:
Lorrie Ivas, Business Department
Thank you Lorrie for 30 years of exemplary service to SMC!

There will be a second round of Sabbatical Applications during Spring semester 2015, for sabbaticals in Spring 2016.    Submission date will be April 6th.
Additional details and an updated application
will be posted soon.



  • Mary Colavito, Chair
  • Mary Bober
  • Christina Gabler
  • Jae Lee
  • Karen Legg
  • Marc Trujillo

​     Administrators

  • Mona Martin, Vice Chair
  • Ida Danzey
  • Sherri Lee-Lewis

     Scope and Function: Sabbaticals, Fellowships and Awards Committee
     Membership: Faculty and Administrators, 2:1 ratio
     The Committee recommends to the Board of Trustees the awarding of leave time
     and financial stipends to support individual faculty as they pursue worthwhile professional
     development activities, such as formal study, independent research, creative projects, field
     studies, or travel related to their profession not otherwise possible through a normal
     workload assignment.
     A. Develops and makes available a set of formal standards and matrix that will be applied in sabbatical
         and fellowship applications.  
     B. Establishes procedures and timelines governing sabbatical and fellowship applications.
     C. Publicizes the availability of and faculty members’ eligibility for sabbaticals and fellowships.
     D. Provides workshops that clarify the sabbatical and fellowship applications and the evaluation process.
     E. Evaluates sabbatical and fellowship recipients’ reports summarizing their experiences and activities.
     F. Nominates the Faculty of the Year for approval by Senate.


Fall Semester 2014 Meetings

​November 6, 2014, 3:15 pm, Science 251
Agenda ​Minutes
​November 20, 2014, 3:15 pm, Science 251
Agenda Minutes
​December 11, 2014, 11:15 am, Science 251 Agenda ​Minutes

HAYWARD AWARD 2015 NOMINATIONS due November 14, 2014

       Hayward Award Nomination Form



   2014-2015 Fellowship Application  will be updated for 2015-2016 but requirements
                                                                    will be similar
    Fellowship Application Pointers (PowerPoint presentation given 3/18/14)



  • 2012-2013 SMC Faculty of the Year: Professor Eric ​​​Oifer
  • 2012-2013 Nominee for Hayward Award​​ for Teaching Excellence: Professor Eric Oifer​​