Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Skip to main content

Academic Senate

​​Academic Senate logo  

Welcome to SMC Academic Senate Website

Office Location:

Main Campus • HSS Building, Room #261


(310) 434-4611


8:00 am to 1:00 pm, Monday through Thursday
Anisha Fullard​, Administrative Assistant

To book HSS 261 please email Anisha Fullard​

See Calendar for availability

What is Santa Monica College Academic Senate?

The SMC's Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations to the administration of the college and to the governing board with respect to academic and professional matters.

Academic Senate Officers 2016-2017

  • Fran Chandler, President

  • Nate Donahue, President-Elect

  • Jose Hernandez, Treasurer

  • Carol Womack, Recording Secretary

  • Jacqueline Scott, Parliamentarian

Academic Senate Meeting Schedule 2016-2017

  • Executive Committee Meeting

    Tuesday, 11:15 am to 12:35 pm, HSS 261
    • August: 30
    • September: 13, 27
    • October: 11, 25
    • November: 8, 22
    • December: 6
    • February: 14, 28
    • March: 14, 28
    • April: 18
    • May: 2, 16, 30
  • Senate Meeting

    Tuesday, 11:15 am to 12:35 pm, B144
    • September: 6, 20
    • October: 4, 18
    • November: 1, 15, 29
    • December: 13*
    • February: 21
    • March: 7, 21
    • April: 4, 25
    • May: 9, 23
    • June 6*
*Special Meeting Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
To Report Absences Contact Carol Womack

Academic Senate Agendas and Minutes:

Executive Committee

The Academic Senate Executive Committee consists of elected officers and the chairs of standing committees. The Executive Committee serves as a steering committee for the Senate by recommending senate objectives and setting the senate agendas.

Academic Senate Executive Committee Chairs 2015-2016

  • Joint Senate Committees

    Career Technical Education – Fariba Bolandhemat

    Curriculum – Guido Davis Del Piccolo

    Distance Education – Pete Morris

    Environmental Affairs – Alexandra Tower

    Global Citizenship – Gordon Dossett

    Information Services – Jinan Darwiche

    Institutional Effectiveness – Fran Chandler

    Professional Development – Nate Donahue

    Program Review – Vicki Drake

    Sabbaticals and Fellowships – Alan Buckley

    Student Affairs – Beatriz Magallon

    Student Instructional Support – Jason Beardsley

  • Senate Committees

    Adjunct Faculty – Michael Strathearn & Joelle Adams

    Department Chairs – Mitra Moassessi

    Election and Rules – Moya Mazorow

    Equity and Diversity – Mark Tomasic

    Fiscal Affairs – Jose Hernandez

    Legislative Action – Kevin Menton

    Professional Ethics and Responsibilities- Walker Griffy

    Personnel Policies – Dana Nasser

    Social Committee – Vacant

    Faculty Association Liaison – Peter Morse

​Other Senate Responsibilities

Honor Council – Greg Brookins

Interdisciplinary Studies

Student Relief Fund – Peggy Kravitz

Student Success – Maribel Lopez

Executive Committee Agendas and Minutes:

Upcoming Events


Participatory Governance Policy

Board Policy 2000, Article 2200, BP 2210:
"Santa Monica College is a community composed of students, faculty, staff, administration and the Board of Trustees who are committed to the implementation of the Participatory Governance Policy (AB 1725).  The Board of Trustees honors the concept of participatory governance in all areas defined by State laws and regulations as policy of the Santa Monica Community College District, while retaining its own rights and responsibilities as the ultimate authority.
The Board of Trustees has adopted the following participatory governance policies developed by the Academic Senate, Classified Staff, Associated Students and Management Association."
Click here to read the participatory governance policy adopted by the Board of Trustees.