The Music Department offers a comprehensive theory and musicianship sequence that includes the following courses:

  • Music Fundamentals (Music 1)

  • Diatonic Harmony (Music 6)

  • Chromatic Harmony (Music 7)

  • Modulation and Analysis (Music 8)

  • Musicianship (Music 2, 3, and 4)

  • Popular Harmony and Arranging (Music 10)

  • Introduction to Music Technology (Music 12)

  • Tonal Counterpoint (Music 13)

  • Orchestration (Music 19)

The core Theory and Musicianship sequence are designed to teach students the harmonic and contrapuntal idioms of music through music writing, listening, and analysis assignments. These courses also include the study of the twentieth century and contemporary jazz/pop idioms. The Music 6, 7, and 8 sequences should be taken concurrently with the Music 2, 3, and 4 Musicianship sequence.

Music 10 (Popular Harmony and Arranging), Music 12 (Introduction to Music Technology), Tonal Counterpoint (Music 13), and Orchestration (Music 19) are elective courses that are generally offered in alternate years. Music 1 (Music Fundamentals) is a beginning course and is the prerequisite for all other theory and musicianship courses.