The Corsair Wins 20 Awards in Regional Competition

The Corsair newspaper front pageSanta Monica College's student newspaper The Corsair won 20 different awards, including four first place awards and the coveted Newspaper General Excellence award, at the 2013 Southern California Convention of the Journalism Association of Community Colleges (JACC) held at Cal State University-Fullerton, California, on October 11-12.

Corsair news editor Elizabeth Moss won first place in the on-the-spot news writing contest, while staff writer Alci Rengifo was awarded first place in the critical review writing contest. Corsair staff, led by editor-in-chief Amber Antonopoulos, received the Newspaper General Excellence in recognition of print editions produced last semester.

About 360 students from 26 community college journalism programs in Southern California attended the convention. Students participated in several on-the-spot writing and photography contests, and also attended workshops offered throughout the two-day event. The results of the publications contest recognizing top work from last year were also announced at the convention.

Saul Rubin is the Corsair advisor and instructor of the journalism class that produces the print and online editions of the Corsair, while SMC instructor Gerard Burkhart is the photo adviser.

Here is the complete list of SMC awards at the 2013 JACC Southern California Convention:

Publications Contest

First Place, Photo Story-Essay: Amy Gaskin
First Place, Inside Page Layout (Tabloid): Cocoa Dixon and Mikaela Osterlund
Second Place, Photo Story-Essay: Marine Gaste, Rachel Porter, and Amy Gaskin
Second Place, Webcast/Broadcast News: Andy Riesmeyer
Third Place, Feature Photo: Mark Popovich
Fourth Place, Column Writing: Nathan Gawronsky
Fourth Place, Front Page Layout: Amy Gaskin and Cocoa Dixon
Honorable Mention, News Photo: Madeleine Dalla Torre Castillo
General Excellence: The Corsair

On-the-Spot Contest

First Place, Critical Review: Alci Rengifo
First Place, News Story: Elizabeth Moss
Second Place, Bring-in Ad: Cocoa Dixon and Mikaela Osterlund
Fourth Place, Critical Review: Albert Andrade
Fourth Place, Feature Photo: Arlene Karno
Honorable Mention, Broadcast News Writing: Henry Crumblish
Honorable Mention, Editorial Cartoon: Jasmin Huynh
Honorable Mention, Editorial Cartoon: Gintare Urbutyte
Honorable Mention, Sports Photo: David Hawkins
Honorable Mention, Sports Story: David Yapkowitz
Honorable Mention, Sports Story: Trevor Angone