​Office of Student Life Advisors and Staff

Dr. Nancy Grass, Associate Dean, Student Life

Benny Blaydes, Lead Counselor & ICC Advisor

Veronica Casillas, Adjunct Counselor

Jeff Gordon, Adjunct Counselor

Tiffany Inabu, Adjunct Counselor

Amelia Trejo, Administrative Assistant II

Michele Harrison, Administrative Assistant I

Associated Students Board of Directors

The A.S. Board of Directors consists of 16 student leaders. Your A.S. Board of Directors are elected by SMC students every year in the Spring Semester.

The board's main responsibilities is to represent student interests to SMC administration and to approve spending A.S. funds. The A.S. Budget comes from the $19.50 A.S. Membership Sticker fee that you pay during registration every semester or session.

So, knowing who your A.S. representatives are and what they do is important to make the best use of your money to serve the interests of the students of Santa Monica College. See below documents and flyers.

The A.S. Meetings are considered public meetings, therefore anyone can attend the A.S. Meetings. Stop by and attend some A.S. Meetings to find out what your board is doing for the students of SMC. See below-meeting flyer.

If you are an A.S. Member ($19,50 sticker), you may get involved in your student government in various ways, either through A.S. Positions or ICC Clubs. See below flyer.

Associated Students 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Visit the Associated Students website

Jennifer Chen, President
Email: as.president@smc.edu

Charlene Boyd, Student Trustee
Email: student.trustee@smc.edu

Jorge Sandoval, Vice-President
Email: as.vicepresident@smc.edu

Ryan Ang, Secretary
Email: as.secretary@smc.edu

VACANT, Budget Management
Email: as.budget.management@smc.edu

Ana Laura Paiva, Student Assistance
Email: as.studentassistance@smc.edu

Jialing Li, Instructional Support
Email: as.instruct.support@smc.edu

Max- Gong, Student Outreach
Email: as.student.outreach@smc.edu

Maggie Lo, Community Relations
Email: as.communityrelation@smc.edu

Santiago Guerrero, Student Advocacy
Email: as.student.advocacy@smc.edu

Saori Gurung, Activities
Email: as.activities@smc.edu

Stephanie Hernandez, Publicity
Email: as.publicity@smc.edu

Alex​a Benavente, Sustainability
Email: as.sustainability@smc.edu

Kyana Shajari, ICC Chair
Email: icc.chair@smc.edu

Melisa Akkaya, ICC Vice-Chair
Email: icc.vice.chair@smc.edu

Maritza Lopez, ICC Communications Officer
Email: icc.communication@smc.edu