Environmental Affairs


Welcome to the Environmental Affairs Committee.

Scope & Functions

Approved by the Academic Senate unanimously on February 26, 2013.


The Committee serves as the Senate's and the College's resource and recommending body on academic and professional matters related to the environment, ecological literacy and greening the curriculum.


  • Support the Center for Environmental and Urban Studies

  • Support the continued development and growth of ecological literacy and the continued Greening of the Curriculum at the College.

  • Support efforts to enhance the College's sustainability

  • Facilitate partnerships to enhance and develop College environmental programs

  • Work with the Associated Students, the District Planning and Advisory Council, and other College committees to address environmental concerns at the College.

  • Sponsor environmentally relevant activities and programs at the college.


Chair, Elizabeth Jordan.

Vice Chair, Ferris Kawar 310-434-3911

Voting Members

Membership: Faculty and Administrators (2:1 ratio)

  • Stuart Cooley

  • Poliana Raymer

  • Dawn Vaughn

  • Michelle King

  • Gustavo Gutierez

Interested Parties

  • Garen Baghdasarian

  • Eric Oifer

  • Amber Katherine

  • Gillian Grebler

  • Natalie Hansen

  • Christyanne Melendez

  • Guido Davis Del Piccolo

  • Natalie Perez

  • Tram Dang

  • Leslie Kawaguchi


Time: First and third Tuesday of each month, 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Location: CEUS (1744 Pearl Street)

Agendas & Minutes