Committees

Equity & Diversity

 

Scope

The Equity and Diversity Committee explores academic and professional matters concerning faculty equity and diversity practices and policies at the college. It works with appropriate campus groups to develop, recommend, and assess policies, programs, and strategies that promote equity and diversity in student success and to update the college’s equity plan.

Faculty Equity Resource Guide

Committee Members

Professor Steph Anderson

Chair: Steph Anderson (they/she)
anderson_steph@smc.edu

Vicenta Arrizon

Vicenta Arrizon (she/her)
arrizon_vicenta@smc.edu

Professor Sara Brewer

Sara Brewer (she/her)
brewer_sara@smc.edu

Professor Kevin Chicas

Kevin Chicas (he/him)
chicas_herbert@smc.edu

picture of julissa hernandez romero

Julissa Hernandez Romero (she/her)
Student Representative
as.equitydiversity@smc.edu

picture of tiffany inabu

Tiffany Inabu (she/her)
inabu_tiffany@smc.edu

Picture of Professor Laila Moosa

Laila Moosa (she/her)
moosa_laila@smc.edu

Professor Mark Tomasic

Mark Tomasic (he/him)
tomasic_mark@smc.edu

Valerie UdeozorValerie Udeozor (she/her)
udeozor_valerie@smc.edu

Professor Amber Urrutia

Amber Urrutia (she/her)
urrutia_amber@smc.edu

Spring 2022 Meetings (Tentative)

Time: Wednesdays, 11am-12:30pm

Location: ONLINE (Zoom)

  • March 16th
  • April 6th
  • May 18th
  • June 1st

Agendas & Minutes

Resources

SMC Equity Mission

Santa Monica College is committed to co-creating an educational institution dedicated to up-holding an equitable learning and working environment. We intend to make clear, through our lived values and praxis, our commitment to inclusive excellence, which is reflected in our student outcomes, and employee satisfaction

SMC Equity Vision

SMC is a dynamic and culturally responsive educational community that upholds the values of equity, inclusion and social justice as a pathway to personal and academic excellence.