Student Support

STEM Counseling

 

STEM counselors are available to help you plan your academic goals. Meet with a counselor at least twice a semester to support and guide or assist you with academic and career planning. Counselors also assist students with selecting academic majors, exploring transfer options, and developing plans to meet your educational goals (certificate, AA/AS, transfer).

STEM Counseling Appointments available by phone & video (zoom).

STEM counseling services will continue to be offered remotely (by phone & zoom) for all students.

Please follow the steps below:

  • If you are in the STEM program, you can continue to make online appointments through Corsair Connect. Instructions on how to make an appointment online can be found here: Counseling Appointments, Online Self-Scheduling
  • NOTE: all appointments will be PHONE/VIDEO Appointments. Please DO NOT come to campus.  
  • Mark your appointment in your personal calendar to remind you to be available during this time.
  • Ensure your phone number is updated in Corsair Connect by selecting "Enrollment Services" and then "Profile/Preferences".
  • IMPORTANT: Be sure to adjust your cell phone settings to allow phone numbers outside of your contacts or "no caller ID" incoming calls at the time of your phone counseling appointment. If you are not available to answer your phone at the start time of your appointment, the appointment will be cancelled.

If you are NOT in the STEM program you can still make a counseling appointment by emailing STEM@smc.edu or by calling 310-434-3988. 

To Schedule a phone appointment with a STEM counselor:

  1. Email: stem@smc.edu or Call: 310-434-3988 (longer wait times will exist for phone requests)
  2. Have your availability ready. Please include a few options for dates/times preferred. (For example: Mon/Wed between 2-4 p.m.)
  3. Identify yourself as a student who is making a counseling appointment
  4. Leave your name, contact info, student ID#, and availability.
  5. Don't forget to indicate if you'd prefer a PHONE or VIDEO appointment

You can also always contact us by emailing stem@smc.edu.

NOTE: If technical issues arise, please send a screen grab and as much info as possible in an email to stem@smc.edu and we will do our best to respond as quickly as possible. 
Thank you!  -STEM Team

SUMMER 2021 --STEM Counseling Schedule 

SUmmer 2021 - Week 3
Counselor

Monday 7/5/21

Tuesday 7/6/21 Wednesday 7/7/21 Thursday 7/8/21 Friday 7/9/21
Debbie Holiday N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jose Holiday N/A N/A N/A N/A
Marian Holiday       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria) Holiday   9 a.m. - 3 p.m.   9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan Holiday N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 4
Counselor

Monday 7/12/21

Tuesday 7/13/21 Wednesday 7/14/21 Thursday 7/15/21 Friday 7/16/21
Debbie N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jose N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Marian 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria)     9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 5
Counselor

Monday 7/19/21

Tuesday 7/20/21 Wednesday 7/21/21 Thursday 7/22/21 Friday 7/23/21
Debbie 8 a.m. - 2 p.m.   8 a.m. - 2 p.m. 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. 8 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Jose N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Marian 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria)     9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 6
Counselor

Monday 7/26/21

Tuesday 7/27/21 Wednesday 7/28/21 Thursday 7/29/21 Friday 7/30/21
Debbie N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jose N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Marian 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria)     9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 7
Counselor

Monday 8/02/21

Tuesday 8/03/21 Wednesday 8/04/21 Thursday 8/05/21 Friday 8/06/21
Debbie N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jose N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Marian 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria)     9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 8
Counselor

Monday 8/09/21

Tuesday 8/10/21 Wednesday 8/11/21 Thursday 8/12/21 Friday 8/13/21
Debbie N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Jose   8 a.m. - 4:30 p..m. 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  
Marian 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Belén (Maria)     9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sheridan N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SUmmer 2021 - Week 9
Counselor

Monday 8/16/21

Tuesday 8/17/21 Wednesday 8/18/21 Thursday 8/19/21 Friday 8/20/21

-- Due to Summer STEM SKILLS WEEK ACTIVITIES,

No STEM Counseling Available Week 9 --