Program Review


About Program Review

Program Review is a mandated process that is integral to institutional planning. The Academic Senate Joint Program Review Committee is responsible for the process, which falls under the purview of the 10+1 areas of faculty responsibility. All institutional programs and departments are required to engage in meaningful program review, and according to the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC), the program review processes at all institutions are expected to be at the Sustainable Continuous Quality Improvement Level for both instructional and non-instructional programs and services.

From 2021-2023, Program Review was paused to allow the Program Review Committee time to work on a major revamp of the entire Program Review process. It had been over a decade since the last revamp. The Committee hopes that the revamped process will be an improved opportunity for programs' self-reflection and self-evaluation, as well as better support institutional planning. 

Comprehensive Program Review (CPR) and Progress Update (PU) Program Review

Program Review provides a structure for programs to document systematic engagement in self-evaluation, leading to program improvements. All programs are required to submit a CPR self-study every six years, as well as PU reports every two years. These reports document programs' ongoing self-evaluation and improvements.

Precision Campus 

Precision Campus for Program Review

Precision Campus is now where programs will respond to the template prompts to create their reports. It uses the SMC single sign-on login. 

Support Materials for Programs


Chair, Brian Driscoll (interim, Fall 2023); Stephanie Amerian (Spring 2024)

Vice-Chair, Mitch Heskel


  • Guido Del Piccolo
  • Tiffany Inabu
  • Jing Liu
  • Jamar London
  • Marisol Moreno
  • Catherine Miller


  • Tyffany Dowd
  • Sasha King
  • Hannah Lawler

Interested Parties

  • Anne Marre Bautista, Institutional Research
  • Jamar London, Academic Senate President
  • Sal Veas, Chair, Curriculum Committee