Student Support

Title IX Coordinator and Deputies

 

In an Emergency 24/7

From any campus phone,
call 4300 or 911

From a mobile phone,
call SMC dispatch
310-434-4300

If off-campus, call 911

SMC has designated a Title IX Coordinator and Title IX Deputies who oversee SMC’s compliance with Title IX. SMC’s designated Title IX Coordinator and Title IX Deputies oversee SMC’s compliance with Title IX, including coordinating the investigation of and response to sex discrimination complaints, responding to inquiries concerning Title IX, tracking incidents and trends involving sexual misconduct, coordinating equity in athletics compliance, publicizing SMC’s policies, and providing training on preventing sex discrimination, sexual harassment, and sexual violence.

If you have a complaint involving sex discrimination, sexual harassment, or sexual violence, or if you have questions about SMC’s policies or procedures in these areas, please contact one of the Compliance Administrator/Title IX Coordinators or Title IX Deputies listed below.

Please Note: Compliance Administrator/Title IX Coordinator and Title IX Deputies are not a confidential source of support. While they will address your complaint with sensitivity and will keep your information as private as possible, confidentiality cannot be guaranteed. You can access confidential resources, please contact those services.

Talk to Someone On-Campus

Title IX Coordinator

Lisa Winter
SMC Human Resources office
2714 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica
Tel: 310-434-4225
Email: winter_lisa@smc.edu

The Title IX Coordinator oversees SMC's response to reports involving sexual assault/misconduct and sex discrimination, including the investigation and resolution of complaints and the provision of resources and protective measures. The Title IX Coordinator monitors complaints about patterns and systemic problems, disseminates data periodically to the community, and coordinates campus climate surveys on sexual misconduct. The Title IX Coordinator develops and implements policies, procedures, practices, and resources that further compliance with Title IX and related laws. The Title IX Coordinator oversees development and delivery of prevention and awareness programs related to sexual misconduct and sex discrimination and ensures that all members of the school community are aware of SMC's policies and resources.

Title IX Deputies

Title IX Deputies can provide students faculty and staff with information on resources and options, procedures regarding sexual misconduct and sex discrimination and assists in the implementation of protective measures. They understand key policies related to compliance with Title IX and related laws. They conduct training and are involved in prevention measures related to Title IX issues.

Lydia Ayala
Assistant Athletic Director
Phone: 310-434-4494
Email: ayala_lydia@smc.edu

Jason Beardsley
Interim Dean, Instructional Services
Phone: 310-434-8054
Email: beardsley_jason@smc.edu

Nancy Cárdenas
Project Manager, Workforce & Economic Development
Phone: 310-434-8621
Email: cardenas_nancy@smc.edu

Reggie Ellis
Athletic Director
Phone: 310-434-3780
Email: ellis_reggie@smc.edu

Tre’Shawn Hall-Baker
Dean of Human Resources
Phone: 310-434-4170
Email: hallbaker_treshawn@smc.edu

Denise Henninger
DSPS Manager - Deaf & Hard of Hearing Services
Phone: 310-434-4265
Email: henninger_denise@smc.edu

Debra Joseph-Locke
EOPS/CARE Supervisor
Guardian Scholars Coordinator
Phone: 310-434-4449
Email: locke_debra@smc.edu

Sasha King
Associate Dean (Interim), Career Technical Education & Workforce
Academic Affairs
Phone: 310-434-3404
Email: king_sasha@smc.edu

Denise Kinsella
Associate Dean, International Education Center
Phone: 310-434-3466
Email: kinsella_denise@smc.edu

Sherri Lee-Lewis
Vice President of Human Resources
Phone: 310-434-4419
Email: lee-lewis_sherrie@smc.edu

Isaac Rodriguez Lupercio
Associate Dean, Student Life
Phone 310-434-4554
Email: rodriguez_isaac@smc.edu

Nick Mata
Interim Dean of Special Programs
EOPS/CARE, CalWORKs, Guardian Scholars, DREAM Program
Phone: 310-434-4435
Email: mata_nicholas@smc.edu

Ashley Mejia
Project Manager, Noncredit Initiatives
Phone: 310-434-4383
Email: mejia_ashley@smc.edu

Stacy Neal
Director Financial Aid and Scholarship
Phone: 310-434-4446
Email: neal_stacy@smc.edu

Pressian Nicolov
Dean: International Students Center
Phone: 310-434-4768
Email: nicolov_pressman@smc.edu

Scott Silverman
Interim Dean, Noncredit & External Programs
Phone: 310-434-4370
Email: silverman_scott@smc.edu

Deirdre L. Weaver, M.S.
Director, Outreach and Onboarding Initiatives
Phone: 310-434-4791
Email: alumni@smc.edu, weaver_deirdre@smc.edu

Contacts at SMC for LGBT Campus Community

Mike Tuitasi
Vice President, Student Affairs
Phone: 310-434-4958, 310-434-4389
Email: tuitasis_michael@smc.edu

Nate Donahue
Academic Senate President
Assistant Professor of Art History
Phone: 310-434-4062
Email: donahue_nathaniel@smc.edu

Lisa Winter
Title IX Coordinator
Phone: 310-434-4225
Email: winter_lisa@smc.edu