International Education Center

Intensive English Program (IEP)

 

Intensive English Program (IEP)

The Intensive English Program at Santa Monica College will help you improve your skills in speaking, reading, listening to, and writing English. Classes start at the beginning of every month. The cost is only $1,000 per month!

Intensive English Section Dates

Students may join the program on any of the start dates listed below for intensive preparation in academic English and campus culture.  Twice each year, the program offers a Language and Culture session, which includes field trips into the community, an emphasis on developing social English skills, and learning about American culture both on and off campus.  The Language and Culture sessions are open to new academic students as well as IEP students.

2022 - 2023  Intensive English Program Session Dates

Fall sessions 2022

September:

Tuesday September 6 - Friday September 30, 2022

October Session:

Monday October 3 - Friday October 28, 2022

November Session:

Monday October 31 - Wednesday Nov 23, 2022

December Session (3 Week Language and Culture Session)

Monday November 28 - December 16, 2022

Winter session 2023

January Session

Tuesday, January 3 - Friday, January 27, 2023

spring sessions 2023

February Session

Monday, January 30 - Friday, February 24, 2023

March Session

Monday, February 27 - Friday, March 24, 2023

April Session

Monday, March 27 - Friday, April 28, 2023

(No classes during spring break week: April 10 - April 14)

May Session

Monday, May 1 - Friday, May 26, 2023

Summer Sessions 2023

June Session

Monday, June 5 - Friday, June 30, 2023

July Session

Monday, July 3 - Friday, July 28, 2023

August Session (3 Week Language and Culture Session)

Monday, July 31 - Friday, August 18, 2023

fall sessions 2023

September Session

Tuesday, September 5 - Friday, September 29, 2023

October Session

Monday, October 2 - Friday, October 27, 2023

November Session

Monday, October 30 - Wednesday, November 22, 2023

December Session (3 Week Language and Culture Session)

Monday, November 27 - Friday, December 15, 2023

Intensive English For Beginning Level Students (Not For Credit)

These not-for-credit courses, Intensive English 1 and Intensive English 2, are intended for F-1 international students who do not meet the minimum TOEFL or alternative proof of English proficiency to be admitted as an academic program F-1 international student. This multi-skills course is designed for high beginners and intermediate students who are literate in one language and interested in improving their English for basic communication and ultimately for success in for-credit college classes.

The course provides an introduction to the basic structures of the English language and focuses on the reading, writing, listening and speaking skills necessary for living and studying in the US. The Intensive English Courses meet 20 contact hours per week. During the fall and spring semester, classes meet 4 hours per day Monday – Friday. Students are assigned to a morning and an afternoon session. Please note that during the winter or summer session, the schedule may be altered to take place Monday-Thursday for 20 contact hours per week but participants will be notified of this schedule prior to the start of the session.

To apply for the Intensive English Program, visit the How to Apply to SMC page.

Important

All students accepted into the SMC Intensive English Program will participate in a mandatory orientation, which takes place before the start of classes.

You will need to arrive in the U.S. before your orientation date to secure your own housing. Students who do not arrive in time for their orientation program may be deferred to the following month, session or semester at SMC.

SMC English as a Second Language (ESL)- For Academic Credit

Students who complete the INTENSIVE ENGLISH PROGRAM (IEP) after passing the final exam may enroll in for credit ESL courses as part of the academic program. Students may take other college-level courses while completing the higher levels of the ESL courses.  To learn more about the for-credit ESL program, please visit the ESL Department website.